Published: 06/05/2016 04:13 - Updated: 06/05/2016 08:52

Scottish Parliamentary Election round up

Written byEmma Crichton

Fergus Ewing was elected in Inverness and Nairn for the fifth time.
Fergus Ewing was elected in Inverness and Nairn for the fifth time.

FERGUS Ewing has been elected to represent Inverness and Nairn at Holyrood for the fifth time.

The long-standing SNP MSP has had what he called the 'honour' of representing the constituency since 1999 and won the seat with a landslide majority of more than 13,000 votes.

There were close margins between the other candidates, with the Conservative's Edward Mountain taking second with 7648. Labour's David Stewart was in third with 6719 votes followed by Liberal Democrat Carolyn Caddick with 5445.

More than half of the electorate (57.8 per cent) turned out to vote.

A delighted but tired Mr Ewing said he was looking forward to continuing 'unfinished business' in the constituency.

"I'm very keen to work to continue the success of Inverness as a city as well as Nairn, Grantown and all of the other areas in the constituency," he said.

He also highlighted improving air links, dualling the A9 and building a new justice centre as priorities for the coming term.

This was the first in a trio of triumphs for the SNP in the Highlands with the party's Gail Ross and Kate Forbes both securing seats in Caithness, Sutherland and Ross and Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch respectively.

But the nationalists did not fare so well in the regional list, gaining only one MSP, Maree Todd.

It was the Conservatives who came out top in the Highlands and Islands, with Douglas Ross, Edward Mountain and Donald Cameron winning seats.

Labour's Rhoda Grant and David Stewart both managed to hang on to their seats by slim margins and former SNP MSP John Finnie was re-elected after standing as a Green candidate this time.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo